Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | August 24, 2012

While hiking

So, yeah, I’ve been a little AWOL lately. I’m with the kids visiting my parents in the mountains of North Carolina and, while I love it here and love seeing my parents, five people in a two bedroom house doesn’t really leave much in the way of quiet time to blog. My family is not much of the bright lights, big city kind of people, or even the wandering the shops kind of people. When we’re here, we go hiking. We don’t do great long impressive hikes, but we do long enough ones as far as I’m concerned.
Well, that was what I wrote about a week ago. Then I wrote a whole lot more. Then it disappeared. So now I’m trying again.

My parents started identifying wildflowers a few years ago and that’s what we do on our hikes – see how many different wildflowers we can find. Our best hike this time was 64 different flowers. What I discovered it that in the process of looking for flowers, I find myself noticing much more. There were dark green glossy leaves of galax and wintergreen; feathery fronds of ferns; cushions of moss in chartreuse, emerald, sage and dark hunter greens; the deep brown crumbles of a rotting log; the gray-green scales of lichens; the delicate blue sprays of Southern harebell; the sharp smell of pine and the rich scent of forest loam. And there were fungus. I don’t know if I was noticing them more this year or if it is a particularly good year for fungus, but there were tiny orange mushrooms no bigger than a baby’s fingernail with stems the size of a thread. There were red mushrooms, some with freckles, some smoothly red. There were yellow and grey and cream and black and brown and even a purple fungus. There were mushrooms the size of dinner plates. There was a log completely covered in creamy white as if someone had just plastered it. There were fungus that looked like undersea coral in yellow, white and one in purple. There were large shelf fungus on trees and smaller shelf fungus on trees.

I could go on but I’ll let you see the pictures instead.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Responses

  1. Wow, I adore your photos. You are a really good photographer. : )

    • Thanks, Roben! I took most with my phone and my daughter took a couple also with my phone.

  2. Your description sounds wonderful. I can’t see the pictures. Dang!!

    • I’m putting the album on Facebook so if you’re there, you can see them. Sorry!

  3. So beautiful. And totally worth waiting for. Thank you!
    Julie

    • Glad you like! I was hoping for more beach pictures from you. 🙂

  4. You are an awesome photographer … that is great composition! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with your family :0)

    • *blushes* *shuffles foot*
      Family can be a great blessing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

