Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | April 16, 2012

Wisdom, teeth and otherwise

Friday morning I dragged an unwilling girl child out of bed and to the oral surgeon to have all four of her wisdom teeth pulled out. It took a little over an hour and I spent the time reading. I have no idea what the book said. One mom and teenage girl came in after us for the same thing. They called the girl in the back and about ten minutes later came to call the mother in the back as well. A few minutes after that the mom and girl came slinking through the waiting room. The mother turned to me and said, “she chickened out.” My reaction? Relief (and a little pride), that mine hadn’t done that, sympathy for the girl not wanting to go through with it and for the mom having to deal with the girl, and exasperation, she’s still going to have to come back and have it done. Why not just get it over with?

After about three years an hour and a bit, they called me back to sit with my girl child while she recovered from the anesthesia. I could hardly understand her between the cotton wads in her mouth and her inability to enunciate with her entire mouth, tongue and lips numb. Eventually she wobbled her way to the car propped up between me and the nursing assistant and promptly fell asleep on the way home. She’s doing fine, not too much swelling although some pain, and went morosely off to school today. She’s getting a bit tired of the soft foods.

I look at her and how hard it is to watch my child hurting and wonder how incredibly difficult it must be to have a child that has difficulties out of the normal realm of difficulty. A chronic illness. Cancer. Emotional issues. An accident that leaves him or her permanently hurt. How do you do that? I try to realize how astonishingly lucky I am to have two healthy, happy, wonderful kids but I don’t think I really can not having experienced the other side of that coin. I just try to remember not to take it for granted or as my due in any way.

Responses

  1. Glad she came thru it okay. I was a miserable beeyotch for a week after having mine out when I was 21.

    • She’s actually doing pretty well.

      I can’t believe you were ever a beeyotch!

  2. First, so glad she is fine and all went well! Seriously, SO glad!

    Second, I think these things too sometimes. How absolutely freaking blessed I am! I force this response at times, like when I get a text or phone call that interupts any ridiculous nonsense I have going on and am momentarily irritated. Oh, wait… don’t be annoyed that one of them needs you…. they need you!

    Even if it’s a silly nothing, I must remember how lucky I am that they need me to help with a minor common inconvenience, not for something HUGE like the examples you listed.
    Whew. I need to go say Thank You one more time.
    Julie

  3. I’m with you, Karen. I don’t know how people do it and pray every day that I won’t have to find out. Glad your daughter came through the surgery okay.

  4. Karen, I kept delaying commenting because the thought of what those parents must suffer made me incoherant. You know what, I am blubbering again. Just pretend I said something profound here, okay?

    • You felt profoundly. That’s even better. I’m sorry to make you cry. ((((Hugs!!))))


Leave a Reply

Categories

