Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | March 21, 2012

not today, dear

An online friend posted today that she was going to make her own reality – she would be Super Grover!! While I cheer for her, today I find myself feeling like one of those languishing females from Victorian England. The combination of a cold and insomnia has severely curtailed the activities I had planned for the day. I have been so good for the last week or so with eating well and exercising and I’m hoping today won’t throw me off forever. Today was supposed to be a workout day, but I just don’t feel like it. Girl child told me to exercise tomorrow instead, but I’m truly afraid that (as has happened too many times in the past) falling off the good health wagon for one day results in a month or months-long floundering on the ground of too little exercise and too much food.

For today, I am reading, watching movies, drinking tea and soup (with lots of garlic!) and sucking on zinc lozenges. Tomorrow is another day.

 

Today’s soup is adapted from a Portuguese recipe which I can’t remember the name of and don’t feel like looking up and this is simplified but really tasty.

Toast a piece of sourdough or other hearty bread and cut it into cubes and put it in the bottom of a large soup bowl. Chop up three or so cloves of garlic and briefly saute in olive oil in a saucepan. Add chicken broth until you have as much as you feel like eating. Heat to a simmer. Drop an egg (crack open first!) into the saucepan and poach. Pour it all into your soup bowl and put a handful of chopped cilantro on top. The classic Portuguese has seafood in it so if you have some clams or shrimp or mussels or something lying around they can get cooked in the broth as well.

Responses

  1. Join in the fun another day. Maybe today you should just pamper yourself. Some days are just Eor days. ‘Sokay. And the soup sounds yummy.

  2. Poor Baby! I hope you feel better soon. I’m a chronic insomniac myself, so you have my sympathy. Garlic for the win! (For the cold…as far as I know, it doesn’t so anything for insomnia, alas.)

  3. I always worry about falling off the wagon, too. And sometimes I do. In fact, I did over the weekend. But you know, it was one day (Sunday), and then I was better on Monday, and now things seem to be back to normal. So, if I can do it, you can, too. I hope you feel better soon! the soup sounds lovely!

  4. Oops, I just asked about the soup and garlic at my place like half an hour ago?! Lol, some days I’m WAY more psychic than others. 😉

    I have no assvice about you having a rest day. I can only say that if you are sick you should probably take it easy. (That’s what I would do anyway.)
    Julie

    • A question mark? Why the hell would I put a question mark at the end of that sentence? Gah. Psychic sure, proper grammar, not so much.

  5. So sorry about the languishing, Karen — but the soup sounds yummy.

  6. Hope you kick the Languish soon and rebound with the exercise!

  7. Oh, I must try this recipe, it sounds delicious. Hope you are much better.


Leave a Reply

Categories

