Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | March 9, 2012

I’m back!

I know, I know, I was missing in action for a bit. No good excuse, just I didn’t have much to say and if I did my computer was in someone else’s hands at the time and by the time I got it back whatever that thought was had fled. So here I am, home from the fencing banquet (why do high school sports banquets have such icky food?), watching MythBusters with the boy child, waiting for the crumb layer of frosting on the carrot cake to harden up so I can put the thicker layer on. My life is an endless round of excitement. Hah.

An update on the Pit of Despair: the first groundwater test came back negative (woo-hoo!!!) and on Monday they will be here to get another sample. If that one comes back clear, we should be set to go and can start all over again where we were back in August? September? I can’t tell you how tired I am of looking at a backyard of mud.

Girl child’s fencing season is over and she is totally enamored with the sport. She now has her very own fencing outfit – knickers, jacket, breastplate, gloves and lame jacket  – and her very own saber. We’re looking to find a place for weekly lessons and possibly a week of summer camp. The banquet was tonight and featured a very tightly-knit team all cheering enthusiastically for every single member of the team.

Boy child starts track on Monday. He has no idea what he will be doing, but I’m sure we’ll find out. Middle school track is a little haphazard as they don’t really have a track exactly, just a gravelly oval in a big field. Two weeks ago we had several back and forth emails from his teachers about his classroom behavior. He is “a very bright student, who doesn’t always work up to potential” and “is often disruptive by talking. We have tried changing his seat but he always finds someone new to talk to.” My kid, the socialite. If he ever gets his intellect, his energy and his enthusiasm all headed in the same direction he could accomplish just about anything, but it may take a miracle.

Kady the deer hunter hasn’t captured any wildlife recently, but she certainly thinks about it!

I’m off to go finish frosting the cake. We are having an all-church birthday party tomorrow to celebrate everyone’s birthday on one day. I signed up to bake a cake for April and am going to try to decorate it with fondant carrots and, hopefully, a spun sugar basket with little eggs. If it works I’ll take a picture and post it tomorrow.

Responses

  1. well, hey, you! nice to hear how things are going at your place. MadMax starts track in a couple of weeks, will be nice to have him outside and active for awhile. Spun sugar basket with little eggs? wow. Pictures required. How do you even do that? 🙂

    • The boy child will probably be improved by more exercise. One can only hope. The spun sugar isn’t working well, but I’ll post it later.

  2. How’s the dancing?! Did they start work in the yard? 😦

    • As long as I can persuade myself to heave my carcass off of the sofa, the dancing is good. Give it another month or so and I think they’ll be able to start in the yard.

  3. Yipee! Family and yard updates! I was NOT kidding, these really are fun things for me to read about. I have no damn kids at home! (Shh, even if she stays here for a bit, it’s different. Sort of.)

    Pictures of that cake, good or not. Really, I live through your baking, especially RIGHT NOW!

    Oh, and if my grandmother were alive she’d say that boy of yours was destined for greatness. Those are skills that will serve him well no matter what he decides to do with them. (She adored chatty kids.)

    Yay for the fencing team!!!
    Julie

    p.s. Here is how our school solved the problem of icky food at the banquets: have the home ec/cooking classes cater it. Emma ran the program when she was a senior, it was a huge success.

    • Hmmm, I’ll have to look into the Home Ec class bit. That might help.

  4. Glad you’re back, and glad your fencer and your runner and your doggie are all doing well. Maybe having a Sarlacc pit in the backyard is good luck?

  5. I must have missed the beginning of the pit story, but I feel your pain. We had to remove an underground oil tank when we went to sell House 2. They dug it up and found six holes, so the front yard had to be excavated up to the house foundation. The pile of smelly dirt and half-sawed oil tank sat in the yard for months, and we paid for that clean-up even longer. I am praying for you to get your yard back in time for spring planting!

    I’m in awe of the baking. I will need pictures!

    (“Talkative,” “Disruptive,” and “Unfocused” are my kids middle names.)

    • If you want to read the rest, just search for Pit of Despair. Thankfully, our insurance company is covering the cost of remediation, but it has been depressing to look at to say the least.

      I don’t know how you can do it with five!! One is killing me!

  6. Glad you’re back! And also that everything is beginning to fall into place with the yard. I’m envious of your baking skills. I have none. : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

