Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | February 8, 2012

Kin ya hep me?

Story first, then blog: Once upon a time in college I had a friend who called Air France when he was in Kansas to get a ticket to Paris. The nice Air France woman answered the phone: “(listen for snooty French accent) Aaaiirr Frraawwnce, (resume normal accent) kin Ah hep ya?”  Kin Ah hep ya? became a phrase among our group.

I have embarked on new addition to my walking. Turn on the stereo, shove over the coffee table and sofa, and dance in the family room like a lunatic for 20 to 30 minutes. My terrible singing and my equally appalling dancing has terrified the dog and, today, I looked out the sliding doors to see a deer watching me with what I can only think was horrified astonishment. I don’t care. Well, I care enough to only do it when no one else is home. But really, the wild life? I don’t care if they see me. This new thing was instigated by a day of egregious maladaptive inertia. (Go read, it will only take a minute or so) I finally pried my butt off of my sofa and put on Godspell and started bopping. Three minutes later I was singing and dancing with the best of them. There are dance moves (sort of), aerobic moves (also sort of) and who knows what all else, but the end result is I’m moving and feeling good and the feel good lasts for quite a while after.

A man and a woman performing a modern dance.

Image via Wikipedia

I can only keep this up until they start work in the back yard again because I’m not willing to dance in front of people with whom I might need to have a serious conversation later and I’m not willing to shut the curtains. I only do that in desperation to keep the house cool in the summer.

This is what I feel like. I shall not injure your eyes by showing you what I really look like. Picture middle aged overweight woman, short hair, glasses, sweat pants with hole, old tee-shirt, bare feet, and that would be it. But I’d really rather you see me as this lovely woman in the red dress.

So on to the help I need: I don’t really listen to much music, I really, really like quiet, so I need help with music suggestions – preferably kind of boppy, and sing-along-able, but slower ones are good to stick in there as well. Show tunes, pop,  but no head-banging and no rap, please! Thank you! Thank you very much!

And if you have a couple more minutes, go to Kate George’s blog and tell her what you want to read, she’s right over there —> in the blog list and she’s giving away Amazon gift cards.

Responses

  1. Work it, baby!!

  2. Cowboy Mouth (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thCoXaPveG0 ) and Natasha Bedingfield ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnhDIGTldho) both feature prominently in any “move it!” mix I’ve had.

    Though there was the disastrously hysterical (our abs got a workout from holding in laughter and keeping straight faces in the midst of crunches and jumping jacks) “Work It All Night Long” mix my roomie and I put together for fencing club warmups junior year of college. It included such hits as “Soccer Practice” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlTKvqQelYc&feature=player_embedded#! ) and the Red Room song from Moulin Rouge. I think we were mad at the guys in the club and wanted to see what we could get away with…

  3. The show itself may not be as good as it was in the first season, but Glee is still an excellent source of bubbly, dancey, sing-along music. If you go to Amazon you can listen to samples from the various Glee albums and see if anything strikes your fancy.

    A few specific songs that can always make me boogie:

    Waking Up in Vegas, Hot N Cold, Teenage Dream, and California Gurls by Katy Perry
    Rumour Has It- Adele
    F*ck You- Cee Lo Green
    Dog Days Are Over- Florence + The Machine
    Everywhere- Fleetwood Mac
    Walking in Memphis- Marc Cohen (Rascal Flatts did a version of this one, too)
    American Girl, I Won’t Back Down, Runnin’ Down a Dream, Free Fallin’, Learning to Fly- Tom Petty
    I Was Made for Sunny Days- The Weepies

    Also most anything put out by Madonna in the 80s and 90s.

  4. The Monkees. I have a boxed set of 4 CDs that I play to make me dance.
    Ricky Martin.
    Meat Loaf’s Bat Out of Hell album. (Great for cleaning house to.)
    The Bangles
    The B-52s
    The early Beatles

  5. Becky, there is also a Cher version of Walking In Memphis! (Of course there is.)

    Madonna’s first few albums (she was on my mind, we all know why)
    John Mellencamp (get a Greatest Hits collection)
    Michael Franti (Spearhead, I think, is his band)
    BareNaked Ladies
    Brian Setzer Orchestra (he of The Stray Cats, VERY dance-able)
    Lion King One and a Half has only about eight songs, but they are super bouncy and fun

    I love the idea of you looking EXACTLY like that dancer in the picture, because in my mind, you do. I don’t care what the deer says.
    Julie

  6. Hmm. I don’t know if ah kin hep ya. I mean, I listen to a wide variety of things, but I’m a head-banger at heart. My daughter likes her Taylor Swift, she’s quite peppy. And Jimmy Eat World, maybe? They’re fun. Otherwise, I’d recommend any best of the ’80s variety CD or some old-school disco. Don’t know if that helps. When I want to dance, I usually turn on The Killers or Red Hot Chili Peppers or The Fratellis or something. Probably not what you were looking for.

  7. Like Delia, I’m a bit of a headbanger (I was thinking the other day that Slash would be on my list of ten most admired people in the world)(then thought…wait!! maybe not.). but I will do what I can here. Walkin’ on sunshine is always a pick-me-up, and I got hooked on Mika when Nell was in high school– Blame it on the Girls and Lollipop are danceable. Beyonce has Single Ladies and Who Runs the World and several others. Do your kids listen to TobyMac? (contemporary Christian) Diverse City and Boomin’ are also good, plus many others of his.

  8. You all are awesome and I love you! *running off to listen to videos and make lists*


Leave a Reply

Categories

