Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | January 14, 2012

not making progress

Alrighty then. Deep breath, i i i n n n and o o o u u u t t t, I’m trying again. Where was I? Right, not making progress. Remember that day that I got all enthused and started cleaning out 20 years of accumulated crap in the living room? It seems that my back objected. It was the sitting on the floor and hauling stuff around that did it in. So first there was the complaining back, then I got that evil, something-is-sitting-on-my-chest, all achy and tired, coming-down-with-a-cold feeling. That lingered for a few days but I successfully warded it off with copious application of garlic and zinc lozenges. The massive cleaning of the dining room table, along with the Great Lego Migration, have been put off. Instead, after a couple of days of no steps at all, I went to baby steps. Because the dining room currently serves, among other things, as an overflow repository for my pantry, I started on the pantry.

Here is a picture of all the stuff that lives in the top shelf – the things that have to do with baking shelf:  I threw out some very old cookie decorating supplies but kept the colored sugar sprinkles because sugar doesn’t go bad. I combined two half bottles of corn syrup and two partly filled cans of cocoa powder. I threw out a bag of cornmeal since I couldn’t remember when I used it or what for. Of course, next week I will probably find some fabulous recipe that uses cornmeal. Here the shelf is newly cleaned of sticky spots and spilled bits of somethings:  About eight years ago when we redid the kitchen we got rid of the incredibly ugly chipboard cupboards and replaced them with these lovely cherry ones. I love having the pull-out drawers so stuff doesn’t get hidden at the back for years. Well, that’s the theory at least. And, the newly organized shelf:
I did the next shelf, the vinegar/oil/pasta/rice shelf as well. Can you believe I have nine different bottles of vinegar? All different? Except for the big cheap balsamic and the little expensive balsamic. I know I like to cook but even I think 9 may be a little excessive. I even have a tiny bottle of truffle vinegar. The little balsamic and the truffle are from DH’s job. He works for a company that imports specialty foods and sometimes is given stuff to bring home. Unfortunately, it’s never chocolate.

So that was a few days ago. This morning I was up at 5:15 to get the girl child to school for a fencing tournament. I’ll be leaving in a few minutes to go pick her up. The boy child and I spent three hours shopping for clothes for him. I feel much poorer. Neither one of us likes shopping, but we held it together, got everything he needed, and no tempers were lost, which is a win if you ask me.

And I leave you with a pretty picture. It was one of the mornings last week that the sunrise was so beautiful I had to get a shot of it, Wednesday maybe? Probably the same day Kate got her pretty sunrise pictures.

Responses

  1. But you ARE making progress! In several ways and places, I think.

    Dan and I did a clean out recently too, one of the kitchen cupboards. It doesn’t make me feel better though (I don’t care what all those other people say about it “lightening” you up). It makes me feel wasteful and sad. But he was happy with how it turned out.

    Beautiful picture.

    • I know, just small bits of progress. I blame my New England Yankee genes in the inability to throw stuff away. You know? It might come in useful someday. I do like having a cleaner space to live in, though.

  2. I’m in the baby steps phase, too. I’m hoping to graduate to bigger steps this week since the move gets closer every day. By a day, you know. 🙂 I think if you made it through THREE HOURS of shopping with a boy child with no tempers lost, it’s not just a win, it’s a miracle. My word. MadMax acts like I’m pulling out his fingernails with pliers if I make him try clothes on for ten minutes. Thanks for the beautiful sunrise picture!

    • Well, he both wanted and needed the stuff we were getting so that helped. As did the stop at Panera’s and the library where he got some videos he wanted.

      As I’ve said before, thinking of moving just makes me want to run and hide! I don’t know how you can do that! And graduate work! I bow to your awesomeness.

  3. You WILL get it done! It WILL be satisfying! It WILL last about 30 minutes before devolving into chaos!

    Rinse. Repeat.

    {{hugs}}

    • The pantry drawer will last longer than 30 minutes since I’m the only one who uses it. The rest of the house? It is to laugh.

      Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

