Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | November 24, 2011

Thanksgiving Day

The day began with the other three members of the house running in the Flemington, NJ Turkey Trot. The husband is in this picture in the dark blue shirt and hat: I stayed home to bake a pecan pie. I don’t do running, although in other years I’ve gone to cheer on the family and any other friends that I can see in the crowd, and be the designated coat holder.

It was a quiet day as it was just the four of us, but it was a nice day anyway. We did most of the traditional foods of the day – turkey, which was moist and delicious, mashed potatoes, gravy, sweet potato casserole, green beans, cranberry relish and rolls. And, the pecan pie which had the weirdest thing happen – it stayed liquid. It was a pie crust, sugary goo and pecans. It still tasted good, but it was definitely strange.

I have so very many things to be thankful for that I really can’t list them all and would probably forget some anyway. So for today, I’m grateful for the friendships I have developed over the interwebs, from my book club and from the Bettyverse. You all have enriched my life and expanded my horizons. Thank you all.

Today’s challenge was to go for a fast ten minute walk. After all that food, it’s probably more of a ten minute waddle! And, yes, I’m talking about me, not you!

Responses

  1. Thankful all around! Thanks for the picture too.
    Julie


Leave a Reply

Categories

