Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | November 18, 2011

thoughts like fruit flies

Have you ever had an invasion of fruit flies in your house? You know how they sort of float around slowly and then when you try to smack them they disappear? Like they have Scotty beam them up or something? My thoughts have been like that. I know I’ve thought of things to write about, but when I actually have time enough to sit down and write something . . . zip! They’re gone. It’s like trying to recall those dreams that once you start talking it sounds like: we were in a car or train and then something happened and . . .

I used to have a working brain. Maybe it will come back someday to visit.

I survived all the meetings this week. I even took coherent notes at one of them. Our water now smells of bleach, but we have been assured that it is totally safe for drinking, showering, cooking, etc. but perhaps we should wait a few days before doing any dark laundry. I think I’m drinking the bottled water we have until it stops smelling.

In other news, the Pit of Despair has been filled in so that the probing machine can come on Monday and poke holes and not fall into the pit. We are hoping rather desperately that the extent of the oil leakage is small, very, very small, and this will be over sometime before the world comes to an end.

And the boy child is camping this weekend with his Boy Scout troop. It is supposed to get down to 26 degrees tonight. Can I just say how glad I am that I will not be camping with him? I told him I would think of him while I snuggled down in between my flannel sheets tonight. Hopefully there will be no need for googling the treatment of frostbite, but I’ll let you all know.

So we’ve missed how many days of gratitudes? Four?

1. I’m grateful my back is feeling much better and bends and flexes the way it is supposed to.

2.  I’m extremely grateful that the lump on Mom’s arm that she just found was MRI – ed and is not anything other than a muscle strain.

3. I’m truly grateful that it’s Thursday, which means it’s pizza night and I don’t have to make dinner! ( yes, that was yesterday’s!)

4. I’m grateful that we figured out how to get my phone to talk to my computer again. It seems my computer is too old to communicate with the Cloud – it’s two years old – so we have to go with plugging it in the old-fashioned way, which is fine with me.

If we’ve missed four days of gratitudes, that means we’ve missed four days of daily challenges:

1.  Dish out a genuine compliment to a friend, family member, or co-worker.

2. Curl your fingers into a fist, then straighten them. Repeat 9 times.

3. Find the sodium (salt) content in 3 foods.

4. Invest time in a friend or acquaintance: Reach out and make a date for lunch, coffee, or a walk.

I did all but the last one and I’ll get to it. There are tentative plans afoot for next weekend, so once those get firmed up, I’ll have a date with a friend.

Go do something nice for yourself and I am going to go get some sleep.

Responses

  1. I’m glad things are going better for you. I hope your oil spill situation turns out to be minor.

  2. Your gratitudes are fabulous! And also, what Delia said too.

    Yipee for surviving the meetings, and wow, I’m cold just THINKING about that boy out there in a damn tent.
    Julie

    • I really think having to think of something specific everyday to be grateful for has been a good thing. It’s made me more aware of all the stuff I have to be grateful for.
      And when I let out the dog and scurried down to the mailbox for the newspaper, looking at the frost on the grass, I was thinking if it were me I would NEVER get out of my sleeping bag!

  3. I was going to leave a response, but my witty thought zipped away … like a fruit fly.

    Squirrel!


Leave a Reply

Categories

