Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | November 4, 2011

It’s not much, but it’s all I got

Woke up with a case of bad back. grrrrrr    Gonna have to work hard on the gratitudes here. Okay, I’m grateful that I didn’t have to do very much today so I could just lie on the sofa with a heating pad and whine quietly to the dog. I’m grateful that the one thing I really did have to do was parent/teacher conferences for the boy child and they went really well. They think he’s really bright and if he can just 1) write so people can read it and 2) keep himself organized then he will be just fine. One of the worries I have for him, because you just can’t live life with no worries, at least not without some serious chemicals going on, is that because he finds so much stuff easy, he won’t learn how to work hard and persevere at stuff that is more difficult for him. I know, I know, on the great scale of things to worry about it’s really pretty damn low, but, hey, we work with what we got. I knew brilliant kids in college who had skated happily through school doing the bare minimum effort and getting A’s and finally got into classes hard enough to challenge them and they didn’t know how to handle it. And dropped out. And there is other stuff in life that is hard and takes perseverance besides just academics, don’tcha know? So anyway, back away from the worry and slide on over to the grateful here. Thank you for an easy schedule and happy conferences.

And today’s challenge:  Release muscle tension by gently rolling your shoulders 5 times, both forward and backward. Oooo-kay, as soon as I can sit up without my back going into major spasms, I’ll try this out. Gently.

For the back I’m taking ibuprofen, even though I’m not supposed to because of stomach issues, doing v e r y gently stretching and moving, and using a heating pad. I deeply and sincerely wish I had some muscle relaxant as that will usually stop this in its tracks. But they won’t prescribe anything without seeing me so off I go to the doctor tomorrow. I’m hoping they will give me a scrip for physical therapy as well as I love and adore the guys over at the PT place and then I’ll know I’m doing the correct exercises and stretches to hopefully make this not happen anymore ever again. Are you listening, back? Because I’m talking to YOU!

Responses

  1. Just visiting some sites at wordpress and read your writing. I could relate to the bad back thing. I also can relate to your talk about challenging kids more. I think that is good as it keeps them from being so totally bored, too. And you are right about the fact if things are too easy in school then the college life is much more challenging. Hope you get the PT for your back. I know that helped mine lots, plus no more lifting heavy stuff or digging out weeds in the yard! Take care. Sincerely, Connie Webb

    • Thanks for stopping by, Connie! And I saw the doctor this morning and will be able to get PT. Yay!

  2. Bad backs are terrible. I thought knees were the worst until I threw out my back. I’ll keep ’em crossed they’ll give you the meds you need to get better.

    As for Boy Child. Since they can’t read his writing — could grow up to be a doctor, you never know. 😉

    I agree with your need to be concerned. If he doesn’t learn the skill set he needs to study then there could be trouble down the line when he does become challenged by something. Does the school have a resource where they could give him more challenging work?

    Best of luck – Let us know how you are feeling.

    • Got good meds and will be doing PT so the back should improve soon.
      A doctor? Maybe. Right now he wants to be a scientist and make all kinds of things work better. He is being challenged in math as his teacher loves him and gives him challenges to do and he’s also in the G&T program with a terrific teacher, so that’s good as well.

  3. FGBVs! Sweet Babou hurt his back too, and is on muscle relaxers to help it. Poor guy. I hope your back is better very soon!!

    • Poor Babou! I feel his pain. Hah. They did give me muscle relaxers but they knock me out so badly I’ll only take them at night. Tell him I hope he is feeling better sooner than soon and I hope you’re feeling better too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

