Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | November 3, 2011

Bits and pieces

This one is about thanksgivings, a revisit to the Pit of Despair, challenges and a thank you.

Thank you, all of you, who commented on yesterday’s post. I’m feeling all warm  and fuzzy like flannel pajamas around the cockles of my heart (what are heart cockles anyway?) and much better about my need for validation. I belong to an online book club (yes, Julie, I’m emailing you about it) and there are a couple of people in it whose posts  just make me cringe pretty much every time I read them. I was hoping I wasn’t eliciting those kind of reactions from people when I comment, and it seems from what you all have said that I don’t. So thank you for your kind comments.

On to the Pit of Despair which history you can read here, here, and here. Last week we got the good news/bad news that the groundwater was contaminated. It’s good news for us because that means that our homeowner’s insurance will cover the remediation because it is a 3rd party impact. It’s a third party impact because the groundwater, oddly enough,  belongs to the State of New Jersey. Bad news because, well, yuck for oil in water. So the nice guy from the environmental company who handles the testing and remediation came today to test our well water. It should be fine, but it will be nice to know for sure. The other information I got was that the nice deep footings that John the Builder dug for the sunroom need to be filled back in so the equipment that does the core sampling to find the extent of the oil doesn’t fall in the pit and need to be rescued. So it seems we are going backwards for a while instead of forwards. Posts about this will undoubtably show up for the next year or so that they tell us it will take before it is all taken care of. (yeah, yeah, yeah, ended with a preposition, shoot me.)

I haven’t been very diligent about posting the daily challenge and I will try to be better. Really. Yesterday’s was to find a picture that shows one of your hopes or dreams. Here it is, although it is more of a fantasy than a hope:

Motorhome stopover (Stellplatz) in Freyung, Ba... Can you see me visiting friends and family and seeing the country?

Today’s challenge wasn’t quite so interesting; it was to trade a sugar-sweetened beverage for water, no-sugar-added juice, or skim or low-fat milk. This one actually wasn’t very easy as I mostly drink water. A glass of orange juice and a cup of coffee with breakfast, then water, a cup of coffee with milk for that mid-afternoon sleepytime, a glass of wine with dinner if I don’t have to drive anyone anywhere, and all the rest is water. I decided I had done it just because of all the water I drink and the lack of sugared drinks.

And then, because of Mary Stella’s post today: she posts about keeping a gratitude journal and she writes about making the entire month of November a month of thanksgiving in which one posts a gratitude daily. Now these don’t have to be big and meaningful, they just have to be something that you are grateful for. So today’s is a silly, but important one. This came to me one day while on my daily walk with dog while I was remembering to do gratitudes, which sometimes I do. I was wearing one of my more elderly pairs of underwear, which was fast losing the elastic in the waistband, so it was slowly sliding down my butt as I walked. I deeply and sincerely hate that. So I was trying to be grateful for the invention of elastic as I considered how much more uncomfortable underwear and clothes in general must have been without it.

I’m going to try to post daily for the month with the challenge and a gratitude. Please feel free to nag me in the comments if I don’t.

Responses

  1. Snappy elastic…not too tight, not too loose. We should all be grateful for that. I mean who wants to lose their knickers while out walking in the ‘hood?

  2. Robena, LOL! That was so funny!

    Uh…. I don’t wear knickers, so this really isn’t an issue for me. However, I am so overweight currently that the only pants I can fit in are MADE of stretchy.
    Gratitude: elastic.
    And people who know what they are doing when it comes to polluted water.
    Julie
    Oops, almost forgot, I LOVE those drive-able camper things! Can I be on your list when you start the visiting rounds?

    • Oh you are SO on the list of rounds I’ll be making!

  3. I don’t how it happened, but I have been water deficient for a while now. Your challenge has reminded me. Right, I’m off tea w/honey and back on the waterhorse.

  4. […] noise inside my brain. (I know, I know, not every gratitude can be all deep and meaningful! Go read the first one if you don’t believe […]

  5. […] those of you who have followed the saga of the Pit of Despair (starts here, continues on here, here, here, and here) we have new and exciting developments. We received the coveted “No Further […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

