Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | October 16, 2011

Challenges, I’m toast, and a salad

Today’s Yesterday’s challenge: do 12 wall push-ups. Stand 1 – 2 feet away from a wall, put your hand on the wall, shoulder height and shoulder width apart and keeping body straight, do push-ups. Not nearly as much fun as playing with soapsuds. But done anyway.

That was as much as I got done yesterday for blogging. Six nights in a row I’ve been out, either for a meeting for something I’m involved in or something for the kids. Then there is the usual weekday early rise (5:50), an early Saturday rising for taking the girl child to the PSAT and an early Sunday rising to get both kids to church early for bell choir. Stick a fork in me, I’m done.

Today’s challenge was to watch a comedy with someone, thereby increasing your health by a) laughter and b) companionship. Unfortunately it is Sunday in the fall and that means all football, all day. It’s one of those things – if your spouse really loves something, you either learn to love it or put up with it because you like them to have those things that make them happy.

So it’s mid-afternoon, dinner is in the slow cooker, I’ve taken a walk, the mess in the house can just wait until tomorrow, I’m hanging out on the sofa for the rest of the day.

I’ll leave you with a favorite salad recipe:

3/4 to 1 lb. kale, center ribs removed

2 T. finely chopped shallot

1 1/2 T. fresh lemon juice

1/4 t. salt

1/4 t. pepper

4 1/2 T. extra virgin olive oil

2 oz. coarsely grated ricotta salata (approx. 1 cup) (can substitute cotija or mild feta)

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1/4 cup toasted pine nuts

Cut kale into very thin slices. If you pile it all up together, you can do it all at once. Whisk together shallot, lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss kale, cranberries, pine nuts and cheese together with dressing.

Responses

  1. Healthy! Kale is something i am trying to add more of to my diet … so thanks!!

    • You don’t see me posting my apple cake recipe here which between the cake and the glaze uses 2 1/2 sticks of butter plus some cream. Or the brownies with the Ghirardelli chocolate bars in them. Or the . . . Oh no! I’m all about the healthy!

  2. Yum!
    And hey, you did push ups.
    Two days ago I was on the floor at daughter’s place doing abs. She came into the room told me I was doing them wrong and then demonstrated. Doing them her way I think I made it to three. Ha ha. Okay, so I’m home now, gonna work on that this week. Might make it to five.
    And maybe I’ll eat kale.

  3. Printed. (Sorry, I got behind yesterday.)
    Julie

    • Don’t know what you’ll do about the shallots, but perhaps Dan will think of something. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • We had to set that one aside, ran out of purchasing power for this grocery trip, but Empress said that I also don’t eat kale. I don’t? Well, guess the entire thing will just be a suggestion then. But I LOVE pine nuts! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Your daughter says you don’t eat kale?Isn’t that usually the other way round? I’m not much on cooked kale, but I really like it this way.

  4. […] are two potato soups, similar, but not exactly the same and a kale salad. Oh wait, never mind, I posted the kale salad recipe already here. Seriously, before you go all ooo, yuck! kale! try it. It is really yummy. Plus you get to feel all […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

