Posted by: Karen (Betty Bear) | September 16, 2011

The healthy thing

So, right, I’m partly writing this blog to keep me responsible and on track about increasing the healthy practices in my life. I’m overweight and that’s not healthy. My blood pressure is a little high and while I’m on medication that keeps it in a healthy range, it, obviously, would be better if I didn’t need the medication. Last time I got my blood tested, my sugar level was a little too high. Not in the diabetes range, just barely in the pre-diabetes range, but still, that’s not a good place to be. I also have gastric reflux which has caused some erosion in my esophagus. My gastro doctor said that most people can be weaned off the meds after their esophagus heals up, but mine is not healing as well as he had hoped. He thinks I need to reduce the stress in my life. Or at least deal with the stress I have in a better way. So I’m starting to think about how I’m going to do this and make changes incrementally. Starting Monday.

Why, you ask, do I not start today? Because, I answer, my weekend is going to suck and I’m not going to have time to think about me. It’s going to suck because my father-in-law and his wife (not my MIL, she died 14 years ago) are here and visiting with them for more than half an hour makes me want to chew my leg off to escape the trap. Today entails cleaning the house and grocery shopping, picking girl child up from cross country practice at the high school, picking boy child up from the cross country meet at the middle school, dropping boy child off at gymnastics, dropping girl child off at pasta party (which they have the night before a weekend meet), picking boy child back up, meeting husband, FIL & wife at restaurant for dinner, then fetching girl child from pasta party. Healthy food will only be approximated since it’s dinner out, and time, energy and enthusiasm for exercise just isn’t happening. I’m giving myself a break on that until Monday.

The FIL isn’t really a bad guy, he’s just very conservative, been spoiled all his life by the women in it, and thinks he’s all that since he was a highly successful businessman. His way is the only way and all other ways are just stupid. There’s no future in arguing with him since his mind is set in concrete.

Check back on Monday to see if I survived the weekend and didn’t leap over the dinner table and strangle the man.

Responses

  1. I have to start exercising again next week, when it’ll be six weeks since the C-section. Blogging about your journey is a great idea. Good luck on your weekend.

    • I started with water aerobics after the boy was born since I had been on restricted activity and then had a C-section. I was totally out of shape! Good luck with your start and thanks for the weekend wishes.
      By the way, you are my very first ever commenter!! Thanks for checking in!

  2. Good start1 And FGBVs for your weekend.

  3. Ah ha ha… we have lured you over to the dark side… you are now a blogger! You’ll never be the same Darlin’ -never ever.

    This is a great start, and go you!
    (But you know I’ll need to put this on my blogroll at some point.) πŸ˜‰
    Julie

  4. Thanks for stopping in, Julie! It’s all your fault, you know. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog so much I had to do one of my own! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

